So what is love?

“And if I give all my possessions to feed the poor, and if I surrender my body to be burned, but do not have love, it profits me nothing.” (1 Corinthians 13:3)

If giving all what we have and feeding the poor is not love, then what is love?

If surrendering our body to be burned is not love, then what is love?

If we do all the imaginable and unimaginable sacrifices, and it is not love, then what is love?

If after doing all that, it still profits me nothing, then how can I have love?

Jesus said: “but the things which go forth out of the mouth come out of the heart, and those defile man.  For out of the heart come forth evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornications, thefts, false witnessings, blasphemies” (Matthew 15:18-19).

Read it carefully. Did He mention anything good coming out of our heart? No. He said that all bad things come out of our heart, because this heart is bad by nature. And “So every good tree bears good fruit, but the bad tree bears bad fruit.” (Matthew 7:17)

And be careful! If you don’t have real love, if you are a bad tree yet, then you will lose all your eternity in eternal hell: “Every tree not producing good fruit is cut down and cast into the fire.” (Matthew 7:19) If you don’t have love, you profit nothing.

Now, those who read this may have one of three kinds of reaction:

1. I don’t care.

2. I will try to have love.

3. I will confess to God the fact that I don’t have real love and that I am a bad person, and I will ask Him to save me and give me a new heart and real love.

Jesus said that this third reaction is the only right reaction. He called us not to despise the warning of God who calls us to repentance, so “I don’t care” is a very wrong reaction. And He didn’t tell us to try to be better and to have love, so “I’ll try to have love” is also a wrong reaction. He said: “You must be born again.” (John 3:7)

You must receive from God a new nature and a new heart so that you may have real love. Jesus Christ died on the cross bearing our sins. He did everything needed for our Salvation from sin, so we don’t have to add anything on what He already finished. He rose again on the third day after His death and He defeated death. He wants to forgive you all your sins and to cleanse you and make you clean. Confess to Him your sinfulness and receive Him in your heart as your Lord and Savior. He will enter in your heart, He will make it clean, and He will give you real love: “and hope does not make ashamed, because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by [the] Holy Spirit which has been given to us” (Romans 5:5) The Holy Spirit is God. He comes into your heart when you believe with a living and true faith.

So what is love? It’s not something that we naturally have. We receive it from God when the Holy Spirit comes into our heart. True love is the fruit of the Spirit: “the fruit of the Spirit is love…” (Galatians 5:22) It’s not the fruit of our sinful nature that we all naturally have.

So how to have real love? — Open the door of your heart for Jesus, and let Him be THE ONLY KING OF YOUR HEART. Or else, whatever you do, it will profit you nothing.

Grace be with you!
Disciple of Jesus Christ

___

Posted in Truth | With the Word

This entry was posted in Truth, With the Word. Bookmark the permalink.