When a Day Is Both Good and Sad

The day Jesus Christ died on the cross to take away the sin of the world was a Friday. It was on this day that Jesus Christ, in His dying moments, made the divine declaration that “it is finished”. The sinner can now be reconciled to God thanks to Jesus Christ.

In English, we call this day a Good Friday because the fact that the sin of the world was taken away by the cross is actually good news. Our Lord Jesus Christ has saved many sinners through His death (and through His Resurrection also)! It is actually a day to remember with joy (and not just sadness) especially that the Lord Jesus Christ has already risen from the dead around 2000 years ago! He can no longer die anymore!

However, it is also a day on which each of us should ask himself some serious questions concerning his own sins and the desired salvation of his soul from the poisonous fangs of his sins. Why did Jesus Christ have to die for me? Couldn’t I do it on my own? Couldn’t I save myself from my sins by trying to be as good as one can be? Did Jesus Christ really have to go all the way to suffer and die for me? What is it in me that prevents me from earning my salvation? Am I really THAT bad?

Yes. You’re really that bad … and even worse.

Apart from Jesus, you’re a filthy sinner who does both good and bad things out of sinful motives. And so am I.

Apart from Jesus, you have a problem loving others as much as yourself. And so do I.

Apart from Jesus, you are a creature who lies and cheats his way through society and life. The same could also be said about me.

I am nothing without Jesus. In fact, my sinful nature is a nature of hypocrisy. Whatever I do in the flesh, I do for the satisfaction of the filthy self (not for the glory of the Holy God who deserves all the glory). I can easily say the same about you (and you know it’s true).

I don’t care how many times you donate money to the poor and to the disabled. You’re still a filthy sinner in the eyes of the Holy God.

I don’t care how many times you say you believe in God. You’re still a filthy sinner in the eyes of the Holy God.

I don’t care how many times you’ve helped your loved ones and your friends. You’re still a filthy sinner in the eyes of the Holy God.

I don’t care how many times you’ve avoided lying and stealing and hurting. You’re still a filthy sinner in the eyes of the Holy God.

And I don’t care how many times you pray to God and go to church. I don’t care how high your moral standards are. I don’t care how much you say you love what we preach. You’re still a filthy sinner in the eyes of the Holy God.

You’re a filthy sinner whose sinfulness reeks of bad odor that God cannot tolerate, and yet … He still sent Jesus Christ to die for you.

Think about it.

Jesus Christ died for you despite your filthiness (and not because your righteousness is worthy of His death).

If you were in His shoes, would you have done the same? Of course not.

Do you know why?

Because you can’t love others the way Jesus Christ loves YOU.

John 3:16
For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

The above verse isn’t just a verse for you to memorize and keep in mind for later. This is a verse that you should seriously take to the point that you should put your knees down on the ground now and beg God for His forgiveness (if you haven’t repented yet).

You call this day a Good Friday. Good for you.

I call this day Mourning Friday.

Start mourning now … not for Jesus Christ … but for your sins.

Matthew 5:4
Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

___

Posted by SoldierofChrist in Truth

This entry was posted in Truth. Bookmark the permalink.