Is this considered a lie?…

I was on a Christian blog called Pyromaniacs. Of course, in case you read anything on that blog, I advise you to read with big discernment. I guess one needs to be a theologian in order to see the traps there, for they do not talk the language of common people as Jesus and His Apostles used to do.

Anyway, let’s come back to our topic. I was on that blog, and I read this title: “Women must preach in church”… Well, what would be your first impression if you read such a line on a Christian blog? Would you not think the topic is about whether women can preach in church or not?… Well, I said let’s see what they wrote. And here is what they wrote: “…on one occasion.” They linked it to 1 Corinthians 11:26, as you can see. So what do you understand from this? I understood that it is only in the Lord’s Supper that women can preach, and not only can but must preach. And the idea is that the participation in the Lord’s Table is in itself that preaching that women must do. Note that the author concentrated on women, as if men should not preach in the same occasion the same thing that women preach. And an interesting point is that the Bible never says that women can participate in the Lord’s Table, but men are clearly mentioned as participating! I am not saying that women must not participate in the Lord’s Table. The teaching of the Bible is clear that all Christians should participate. But I am saying that this author concentrated on women in a topic that is NOT about women, but about the Lord’s Table, ALTHOUGH women are not separately considered in the topic of the Lord’s Table in the Bible…

Later on in the comments, the administrators began to delete any comment related to the topic that I stated above… And what was their justification? The justification was: That is not the topic of that post…

So what I want to say is this: This is a case of using a misleading title to catch the attention of people to something which is not exactly what the title of the post says. And my question is: Do you think this is a lie? Should a Christian do things like this?

By the way: I posted there some questions that are related to the Lord’s Table, but the administrator could not see the relation and so he/she deleted it… Later on, I posted the same questions but in the form of another question, and the post was accepted as on topic… Let me show you the two posts of mine, and you will see how both are related to the same topic: The Lord’s Table. I will put the concerned parts in bold:

1. First post:

What does the expression “in church” mean, brother?…

And what does “preach” mean? I never read in the Bible that women cannot preach the Gospel. I read that they cannot teach

“Now this man had four virgin daughters who were prophetesses.” (Acts 21:9)

Quiz: What does a prophetess do?
1. She cleanses the house.
2. She doesn’t talk for God before the people.
3. She talks for God before the people.
4. She wonders what Acts 21:9 means.

Have a blessed time trying to find the answers to these questions…

Grace be with you!
Jdisciple†

2. Second post:

OK. Now, another question. This should be on topic, according to your definition…

Is any meeting of Christians called “in church” if it is not around the Lord’s Table?

Please, back up your answer from the Bible.

Thank you!

Grace be with you!
Jdisciple†

As I previously said in one of the posts of that blog: America’s Christianity is pitiful… needs much prayer…

Grace to you!
Jdisciple†

This entry was posted in Examine all things, Sharing thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Is this considered a lie?…

  1. donsands says:

    “..for they do not talk the language of common people as Jesus and His Apostles used to do.”

    Sure they do.

    Have a blessed Lord’s Day.

  2. Thank you for the comment, dear donsands.

    Just let me give you an example of how they don’t talk the language of common people as Jesus and His Apostles used to do:

    Just remember how the Apostle John talked about gnosticism… Do you remember that? Do you remember having read this word “gnosticism” in his writings? Well, go to the above mentioned blog, and you will find expressions like “emergent movement” or “liberalism” or “classic Calvinism” that in many cases cannot be understood by common people who are looking for the water of life. Did Jesus and His Apostles use this language? I understand that sometimes you need to name things, but that should be done in a way that common people also can understand.

    Another comment is: look how they do some hidden comments and jokes about me and about my replies. Would Jesus and His Apostles do like that? Believe me, common people would not understand the thing about Admiral Ackbar…

    Another important comment is that they don’t preach the Gospel in a simple way that any man would understand. They keep presenting themselves as the teachers, and you never see them preaching the Gospel in a simple way.

    I leave it to the readers to discover the truthfulness of what I explained here.

    Be in Peace!
    Jdisciple†

  3. donsands says:

    You make a statement about Spurgeon and Cigars. That is very immature. You need to listen up. Calm down. When you visit another’s blog, you have to respect his blog. Phil Johnson is fine pastor, and Dan and Frank are fine Christian teachers, and Dan is a pastor.

    Listen to them. God will be pleased if you listen.

    I have a feeling you won’t. I know others who don’t want to listen, but simply want to speak, talk, and give their own opinion, and stir things up.

    And we are all like this really.

    I appreciate you as our brother, but relax, and see if you fit at team Pyro. You may not. There are multitudes of blogs out there to go and join in and discuss the things of God.

    be blessed and peace to you.

    Donald

  4. Dear Donald,

    I could delete this comment as being off-topic, because I never commented about Spurgeon in the article related to this post. But as your comment contains a general comment about my visits to the pyromaniacs blog, so I left it, and I want to make a comment about what you said.

    Please, explain how making a comment about Spurgeon and cigars is immature. Is it a good testimony for a Christian to like smoking cigars?

    So instead of just throwing your personal opinions, try to explain your position with what God says. I listen very well, and I am very calm, and that’s why I am being able to be patient with all the judgment that I am meeting on that blog. And I respect everyone and their blogs. Show me where I ever made anything disrespectful for anyone’s blog. So please stop judging me even on our blog…

    I never said that Phil is not a fine pastor, and I never said that Dan and Frank are not fine Christian teachers. Just go to our links and see how much we like their sites. But I am trying to make them understand that they are not the pastors of other people’s local churches, and that they are not our teachers. We have ONE Teacher, and that is JESUS CHRIST.

    I only listen to my Shepherd. Whenever anyone, even a great Christian teacher or preacher, says anything contrary to my Shepherd’s voice, I am not ready to listen to him. And the way your “mature” pastors and teachers are behaving with me on that blog is not charitable at all, as another one also commented there.

    So please concentrate on the topic of this post. Tell me: Do you think that is a lie? Do you think Christians should do something like that?

    Be in Peace!
    Jdisciple†

  5. donsands says:

    “So instead of just throwing your personal opinions”

    You do a lot of that your self.

    “I only listen to my Shepherd.”

    No you don’t. That’s a very proud statement.

    I would encourage you to go to a local church, and talk to your elders, pastors, leaders, and fellow Christians about your personality. You talk like everything you say is perfect, and anyone who disagrees with you has to explain himself.

    Now even in this, I know I’m not 100% right, but it’s as clear as the nose on your face.

    Come down to earth my friend.

    Christ is perfect. We are all tainted and sinners. Even our best righteous thoughts need to be sanctified.

    The Scriptures rule, and are our authority. The Holy Spirit sovereignty gives gifts to us all, and some are teachers and pastors and evangelists. That’s about it.
    The Lord Jesus Christ will lead you to where you need to go.

    All praise to His name.

    “Not many of you should become teachers, my brothers, for you know that we who teach will be judged with greater strictness. ” This is scary.

    “God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.” Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you. …Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will exalt you.”

  6. Christopher says:

    I will be more on topic than the Spurgeon and cigars bit. I am a frequent reader of Pyromaniacs and would agree that you have to read with discernment…but what do you NOT have to read with discernment?

    Second, I completely understood what they were saying when I clicked on the link. I am not a pastor, nor a leader in a church, just a teacher at a local elementary school. I understood them to mean that ALL believers proclaim the Lord’s death until He returns by means of the Lord’s Supper. I thought it was plain, but I could be completely wrong in that. What is plain to one person may not be so to another.

    Third, you told Donsands that you could have erased his comment about the cigar and Spurgeon when he wrote it because it was off topic. As the author and keeper of this blog it would have been well within your right to do so, especially if you let people know that this was going to happen if they did not stay on topic. This is what the Pyros did over at their blog. It is their house and they set the agenda. At your house you set the agenda.

    My question would be this: Are you honestly wondering about the legitimacy of their post heading, or are you complaining to your own audience?

  7. Welcome back, dear donsands.

    It seems you are not convinced that people should discuss the topic in hand… Anyway, I will go with you, as you refuse to come with us on topic…

    “So instead of just throwing your personal opinions”

    You do a lot of that your self.

    Show me an example. Note that you just threw another personal opinion without giving any evidence.

    “I only listen to my Shepherd.”

    No you don’t. That’s a very proud statement.

    Yes, I do. Stop judging me.
    And it’s not pride to listen to the Lord’s voice instead of listening to our selfish thoughts.

    I would encourage you to go to a local church,

    Still judging me, even on our blog. Tell me: Who told you that I don’t “go to” a local church? (Note this “go to”, as if the church were a place…) Please, I want a clear answer, just in case you have such an answer…

    But as you are judging me anyway, then tell me: To which local church do you advise me to “go”, dear friend?…

    and talk to your elders, pastors, leaders, and fellow Christians about your personality.

    Another judgment. Tell me: Who told you I don’t do this?

    So do what you advise me to do…

    You talk like everything you say is perfect, and anyone who disagrees with you has to explain himself.

    Thanks for the testimony about the strength of my arguments.
    Reminder: “But some men from what was called the Synagogue of the Freedmen, including both Cyrenians and Alexandrians, and some from Cilicia and Asia, rose up and argued with Stephen. But they were unable to cope with the wisdom and the Spirit with which he was speaking.” (Acts 6:9-10)

    Now even in this, I know I’m not 100% right, but it’s as clear as the nose on your face.

    So it’s so clear that you may not be 100% right… I see…

    Come down to earth my friend.

    Thanks for the testimony again… So you testify that I am not like the world, but I speak from God’s Word which is NOT from the earth…

    Christ is perfect. We are all tainted and sinners. Even our best righteous thoughts need to be sanctified.

    Exactly! So AS we all are sinners and are sanctified, then we should not proclaim our own opinions and our own theologies as the absolute truth. We should only proclaim the Word of God. Those brothers on pyromaniacs blog are proclaiming Calvinism which is a HUMAN theology.

    The Scriptures rule, and are our authority.

    Just as I am asking them on pyromaniacs, I also ask you here: WHOSE interpretation of the Scripture?

    The Holy Spirit sovereignty gives gifts to us all, and some are teachers and pastors and evangelists. That’s about it.
    The Lord Jesus Christ will lead you to where you need to go.

    And how did you know that I am not a teacher or an evangelist?… And who decides who is a teacher or an evangelist?

    Anyway, you keep judging, so I will test you with questions. Do you remember what Jesus said here: “But do not be called Rabbi; for One is your Teacher, and you are all brothers.” (Matthew 23:8)

    Did the Apostles contradict Jesus when they talked about teachers in the Church?…

    I wonder why nobody even tries to answer me about this on that blog…

    “Not many of you should become teachers, my brothers, for you know that we who teach will be judged with greater strictness. ” This is scary.

    That is scary for those who don’t have the gift but boast to be teachers.
    (But I am still wondering what all this has to do with the topic of this post…)

    “God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.” Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you. …Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will exalt you.”

    And that’s why I am telling them on pyromaniacs to stop boasting of being teachers of those who do not belong to their parish, and to be humble and to sit with us at the feet of the Lord JESUS CHRIST.

    Thank you for your comments and encouragements.

    Grace to you!
    Jdisciple†

  8. Thank you for your comment, brother Christopher.
    And thanks for saying that you will be on topic instead of talking about Spurgeon and his cigar problem…

    Now, allow me to comment on what you said:

    I am a frequent reader of Pyromaniacs and would agree that you have to read with discernment…but what do you NOT have to read with discernment?

    God’s Word. God’s Word itself teaches you discernment.

    When I said that you should read pyromaniacs with discernment, I meant that people should be careful not to fall in the pits of their theological and practical errors. I didn’t mean that there are things that you can read without discernment; but that was a reminder that such blogs need more discernment than what our readers are used to read on our blog. We talk the same language of the Bible. If you read our blog, you see how we always let the Bible speak for itself. On the pyromaniacs blog, you read theology. I am advising our readers not to stumble because of that. And on pyromaniacs you see Christians mocking their visitors, like it happened with me, so I ask our readers not to stumble about that. And as only the mature have good discernment, therefore I advise our readers to be careful and to know that they need much discernment (i.e. maturity) in order not to stumble there. I inform you (in case you don’t know) that we have readers from Islamic background, from Mormon background, from atheist background, etc, as we use this blog as our mission center to go everywhere on the internet and to preach the Gospel of Grace. So those who read us on blogs and forums and emails and on Facebook usually come here to debate with us or to read our detailed explanations and arguments and apologetics. So we need to advise them in order not to make them stumble because of the bad behavior the pyromaniacs had with me. I respect the pyromaniacs team, and I know how much they love the Word of God. And what I am doing here is a necessary but bitter brotherly advice for them. And I don’t want this advice to turn against the Gospel. So I warn the readers that what the pyromaniacs are doing with me is caused by their ignorance about me, and I tell them that only those who have good discernment will understand all this. And as we all know, only those who are in Christ and have some maturity will understand why Paul would stand against Peter because he was behaving in a hypocrite way, and how that didn’t mean that Peter is not saved…

    Second, I completely understood what they were saying when I clicked on the link.

    Yes, me too. But BEFORE clicking the link? What did the title say? What does it naturally mean?

    Please, answer honestly and objectively.

    I understood them to mean that ALL believers proclaim the Lord’s death until He returns by means of the Lord’s Supper.

    Me, too. And I said this in my post here. But does the title of their post say this?…

    Be objective.

    Third, you told Donsands that you could have erased his comment about the cigar and Spurgeon when he wrote it because it was off topic. As the author and keeper of this blog it would have been well within your right to do so, especially if you let people know that this was going to happen if they did not stay on topic.

    This is common sense: Any blog or forum would not allow off-topic comments or side topics. This would ruin any conversation. So this is common sense, and not our particular rule or something. We don’t need to tell people that they should not talk about what they ate in the morning when the topic is about the Sermon on the Mount, for example…

    This is what the Pyros did over at their blog. It is their house and they set the agenda. At your house you set the agenda.

    1. As it is common sense to post on topic, so this is not a personal or particular agenda.

    2. The pyromaniacs didn’t just delete off topic replies; they were lying(?) — this is the question of this post — and they just deleted my comments that were on topic just because they didn’t understand how they were on topic. So instead of discussing with me to find out what I meant, they just deleted them.

    3. If anyone is free to do whatever he wants on his blog, then let the pyromaniacs admit that their hospitality is not so good and that they are applying this agenda in their house…

    4. If everyone is free to do whatever he wants on his blog, then does this mean that a Christian can lie on his blog? If not, then tell me if their misleading title was not a lie…

    My question would be this: Are you honestly wondering about the legitimacy of their post heading, or are you complaining to your own audience?

    We at the Disciple of Jesus Christ mission, we don’t run a blog to complain or to teach. This blog’s subtitle tells you all what we do: “At the feet of the Lord Jesus Christ”. We come here to study His Word concerning all what happens with and around us, and we drink God’s Wisdom concerning those things. So as I went to a blog and I experienced something that could help my brothers and sisters receive more wisdom by studying it in the light of God’s Word, so I presented it to them in the categories of “Examine all things” and “Sharing thoughts”. My purpose is to study this case in the light of the Word of God and led by the Spirit of Christ, in order to understand whether a Christian would do such a thing or not. In the same time, I thought that readers of pyromaniacs would come and think with us about this matter and share with us their thoughts. After all, this is not available for them on the pyromaniacs blog… And this is what you and donsands are doing this far, and I thank you for that. But I would be very thankful if you made a more objective comment about the title of that post about which I talked in my post.

    Thank you again for sharing with us your thoughts and experience.

    Be in Peace!
    Jdisciple†

Comments are closed.