Question 4: Who is our God?

<< Go to the index of this series.

Question 4:

Who is our God?

Answer:

The God of Thomas, i.e. the God of Abraham and Isaac and Jacob

I. “Hear, Israel: Jehovah our God is one Jehovah (Deuteronomy 6:4); “Unto thee it was shewn, that thou mightest know that Jehovah, he is God — there is none other besides him.” (Deuteronomy 4:35); “Ye are my witnesses, saith Jehovah, and my servant whom I have chosen; that ye may know and believe me, and understand that I [am] HE: before me there was no God formed, neither shall there be after me.” (Isaiah 43:10); “Thus saith Jehovah, the King of Israel, and his Redeemer, Jehovah of hosts: I [am] the first, and I [am] the last, and beside me there is no God.” (Isaiah 44:6); “Look unto me, and be ye saved, all the ends of the earth: for I [am] God, and there is none else.” (Isaiah 45:22); “Yet I [am] Jehovah thy God from the land of Egypt, and thou hast known no God but me; and there is no saviour besides me.” (Hosea 13:4); one God and Father of all, who is over all, and through all, and in us all.” (Ephesians 4:6); “yet to us [there is] one God, the Father, of whom all things, and we for him; and one Lord, Jesus Christ, by whom [are] all things, and we by him.” (1 Corinthians 8:6) “And this is the eternal life, that they should know thee, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom thou hast sent.” (John 17:3); “who changed the truth of God into falsehood, and honoured and served the creature more than him who had created [it], who is blessed for ever. Amen.” (Romans 1:25)

II. “Behold, days come, saith Jehovah, that I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah: not according to the covenant that I made with their fathers, in the day of my taking them by the hand, to lead them out of the land of Egypt; which my covenant they broke, although I was a husband unto them, saith Jehovah. For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel, after those days, saith Jehovah: I will put my law in their inward parts, and will write it in their heart; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.” (Jeremiah 31:31-33); “And they shall not defile themselves any more with their idols, or with their detestable things, or with any of their transgressions; and I will save them out of all their dwelling-places wherein they have sinned, and will cleanse them; and they shall be my people, and I will be their God.” (Ezekiel 37:23) (Jehovah, i.e. God, is the One who speaks in Ezekiel 37:23, as God is Jehovah, the only God, as we see in Exodus 20:1-2 and Deuteronomy 6:4 and Deuteronomy 4:35, and many other similar passages);

III. “And eight days after, his disciples were again within, and Thomas with them. Jesus comes, the doors being shut, and stood in the midst and said, Peace [be] to you. Then he says to Thomas, Bring thy finger here and see my hands; and bring thy hand and put it into my side; and be not unbelieving, but believing. Thomas answered and said to him, My Lord and my God.” (John 20:26-28) (Reminder: Jesus did not forbid Thomas from calling Him “my Lord and my God”); “but as to the Son, Thy throne, O God, [is] to the age of the age, and a sceptre of uprightness [is] the sceptre of thy kingdom.” (Hebrews 1:8); “In [the] beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” (John 1:1); “and the life has been manifested, and we have seen, and bear witness, and report to you the eternal life, which was with the Father, and has been manifested to us” (1 John 1:2) “And we know that the Son of God has come, and has given us an understanding that we should know him that [is] true; and we are in him that [is] true, in his Son Jesus Christ. He is the true God and eternal life.” (1 John 5:20); “Take heed therefore to yourselves, and to all the flock, wherein the Holy Spirit has set you as overseers, to shepherd the assembly of God, which he has purchased with the blood of his own.” (Acts 20:28); “whose [are] the fathers; and of whom, as according to flesh, [is] the Christ, who is over all, God blessed for ever. Amen.” (Romans 9:5).

In part I Jehovah (the God of Abraham and Isaac and Jacob) makes it clear that He is the ONLY God Elohim and that there is no other one besides Him (i.e. separate from Him) who can be God, and that there WILL not be any other God in the future! And in part II He says that He Himself will be the God of His people in the New Covenant just as He was their God in the Old Covenant (i.e. there will not be a change of who God is); the Father is this only God; and yet, in part III we see that Jesus is the God of Thomas (and Jesus approved of this), and that the Son (the Word) is called God. God is One (see part I), and yet both the Father and the Son are this One true God (compare John 17:3 and 1 John 5:20, because both are one according to John 10:30). Note that in 1 John 1:2 the Son is called “the eternal life”, and that in 1 John 5:20 (i.e. the same Epistle) this eternal life (i.e. the Son) is called “the true God”, because He is the same God with the Father whom Jesus called “the only true God”, and not a separate God, as there is no other God but the One God (Jehovah). Note also that just as the Father is called in Romans 1:25 the Creator “who is blessed forever”, in the SAME Epistle the Son also is called “God blessed forever”. So the Lord Jesus Christ is God, i.e. God the Son.

___

Posted in The Lord Jesus Christ, the Son of God — Question and Answer | Truth | Apologia | Religious Movements | Jehovah’s Witnesses | Islam | Mormonism | New Age Movement

This entry was posted in Apologia, Religious Movements, Truth. Bookmark the permalink.