Question 6: Who is our Lord?

<< Go to the index of this series.

Question 6:

Who is our Lord?

Answer:

God, the Lord of David and of Thomas

I.“Stir up thyself, and awake for my right, for my cause, my God and Lord!” (Psalm 35:23); “For Jehovah your God is the God of gods, and the Lord of lords, the great God, the mighty and the terrible, who regardeth not persons, nor taketh reward” (Deuteronomy 10:17); “And it shall come to pass, that whosoever shall call on the name of the LORD shall be delivered” (Joel 2:32). And throughout the Old Testament, the Jews have replaced the Name “Jehovah” with “Adonai” (the LORD), thus showing the revealed truth that Jehovah is their only Lord, and the New Testament authors agreed with that as they rendered all those passages of prophecy with the Greek word “ho Kurios” which is both used about God the Father and about the Lord Jesus Christ; example: “He says to them, How then does David in Spirit call him Lord, saying, The Lord said to my Lord, Sit on my right hand until I put thine enemies under thy feet?” (Matthew 22:43-44). Let’s read a passage from the Old Testament where this truth of Jehovah LORD as the only Lord is evident: I am the LORD, and there is none else, there is no God beside me: I girded thee, though thou hast not known me: That they may know from the rising of the sun, and from the west, that there is none beside me. I am the LORD, and there is none else.” (Isaiah 45:5-6). The Lord Jesus Himself, when addressing God the Father, called Him “Lord”: “At that time, Jesus answering said, I praise thee, Father, Lord of the heaven and of the earth, that thou hast hid these things from the wise and prudent, and hast revealed them to babes.” (Matthew 11:25).

II. “Ye call me the Teacher and the Lord, and ye say well, for I am [so].” (John 13:13; the Lord Jesus is the one speaking in this verse); “yet to us [there is] one God, the Father, of whom all things, and we for him; and one Lord, Jesus Christ, by whom [are] all things, and we by him.” (1 Corinthians 8:6); “and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ [is] Lord to God [the] Father’s glory.” (Philippians 2:11); one Lord, one faith, one baptism” (Ephesians 4:5); “Grace to you and peace from God our Father, and [the] Lord Jesus Christ. Blessed [be] the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenlies in Christ” (Ephesians 1:2-3); “And eight days after, his disciples were again within, and Thomas with them. Jesus comes, the doors being shut, and stood in the midst and said, Peace [be] to you. Then he says to Thomas, Bring thy finger here and see my hands; and bring thy hand and put it into my side; and be not unbelieving, but believing. Thomas answered and said to him, My Lord and my God.” (John 20:26-28 — Note: Jesus didn’t forbid Thomas from calling Him “my Lord and my God”); “He says to them, How then does David in Spirit call him Lord, saying, The Lord said to my Lord, Sit on my right hand until I put thine enemies under thy feet?” (Matthew 22:43-44); “These shall make war with the Lamb, and the Lamb shall overcome them; for he is Lord of lords and King of kings: and they [that are] with him called, and chosen, and faithful.” (Revelation 17:14); “And it shall be that whosoever shall call upon the name of [the] Lord shall be saved.” (Acts 2:21); “For every one whosoever, who shall call on the name of the Lord, shall be saved.” (Romans 10:13) [According to Acts 4:10-12, “the name of the Lord” in Acts 2:21 and Romans 10:13 is the Name of JESUS.]

Jehovah is the only God and Lord of David, and Jesus Christ is the Lord and God of David and of Thomas (for David also calls the Christ “Lord”, as Jesus Himself explained), and 1 Corinthians 8:6 declares with Ephesians 4:5 that we have only ONE Lord! In Isaiah 45:5-6, God declares that there is no other Lord besides Him, and in 1 Corinthians 8:6, the Apostle Paul declares that there is no other Lord than Jesus Christ. In John 13:13, the Lord Jesus affirms that He is the Lord, because He is the God of Isaiah 45:5-6 who said that there is no other Lord besides Him. Joel 2:32 says that it is by calling the Name of Jehovah (Lord) that we are saved, and Acts 2:21 declares with Romans 10:13 and Acts 4:10-12 that this is about calling the name of Jesus! So Jesus Christ is Jehovah, the only Lord in unity of Nature with the Father who also is that same One Lord, for the Father and the Son are One. Both the Father and the Son are the Lord of lords, that same One Lord, because the Father and the Son are One in Nature; They both are the One and only God and Lord, Jehovah.

___

Posted in The Lord Jesus Christ, the Son of God — Question and Answer | Truth | Apologia | Religious Movements | Jehovah’s Witnesses | Islam | Mormonism | New Age Movement

This entry was posted in Apologia, Religious Movements, Truth. Bookmark the permalink.