Question 7: What is God’s Name?

<< Go to the index of this series.

Question 7:

What is God’s Name?

Answer:

“I Am”

In the Bible, the Name of God means His Nature or Essence or who He is, and thus it also means His reputation and the unchangeable Attributes by which He is known. Thus, when Moses asked God what His Name is, “God said to Moses, I AM THAT I AM. And he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel: I AM hath sent me unto you. And God said moreover to Moses, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel: Jehovah, the God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath sent me unto you. This is my name for ever, and this is my memorial unto all generations.” (Exodus 3:14-15) In other words, God told Moses that His Nature, His Name is Jehovah, and Jehovah means “I AM THAT I AM” or simply “I AM”, and that this means He is by Nature the One who does not change; He is Sovereign; He is independent of time and place; in all times and places and outside time and place HE IS; He does not change. He actually explained this later in Malachi 3:6: “For I Jehovah change not (Malachi 3:6). In other words, God said that as He is Jehovah, so He does not change, because that’s His Nature (Jehovah, I Am). And God used this truth about His Name each time He sovereignly promised or commanded something in the Law, thus linking the importance and the gravity of the promise or of the commandment to His Nature and His reputation; for example: “And I will bring you into the land concerning which I swore to give it unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob; and I will give it you for a possession: I am Jehovah.” (Exodus 6:8) In other words, this promise will certainly happen, because He is Jehovah, and He by Nature does not change. Thus an unbelief in God’s promises and/or a disobedience to His commandments brings blasphemy to the Name or reputation of God (see Romans 2:24). And as He is Jehovah (I Am), independent of time and place, so He speaks of Himself in past and present and future in the present tense, as we will see with Jesus speaking about Himself before Abraham who lived long time before Him in history.

In the following paragraphs we will see how the Bible says God’s Name is I Am, and how it also says that the Lord Jesus Christ is the I Am.

I. “And God said to Moses, I AM THAT I AM. And he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel: I AM hath sent me unto you. And God said moreover to Moses, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel: Jehovah, the God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath sent me unto you. This is my name for ever, and this is my memorial unto all generations.” (Exodus 3:14-15); “For mine own sake, for mine own sake, will I do [it]; for how should [my name] be profaned? and I will not give my glory unto another. Hearken unto me, Jacob, and [thou] Israel, my called. I [am] HE; I, the first, and I, the last.” (Isaiah 48:11-12); “Ye are my witnesses, saith Jehovah, and my servant whom I have chosen; that ye may know and believe me, and understand that I [am] HE: before me there was no God formed, neither shall there be after me.” (Isaiah 43:10); “It is I that have declared, and have saved, and have shewed, when there was no strange [god] among you; and ye are my witnesses, saith Jehovah, that I [am] God. Yea, since the day was, I [am] HE, and there is none that delivereth out of my hand: I will work, and who shall hinder it?” (Isaiah 43:12-13); “And it shall come to pass, that whosoever shall call on the name of the LORD shall be delivered” (Joel 2:32); “Go [therefore] and make disciples of all the nations, baptising them to the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit” (Matthew 28:19).

II. “I said therefore to you, that ye shall die in your sins; for unless ye shall believe that I am [he], ye shall die in your sins.” (John 8:24 — In this verse, the Lord Jesus is the one who is speaking); Jesus therefore said to them, When ye shall have lifted up the Son of man, then ye shall know that I am [he], and [that] I do nothing of myself, but as the Father has taught me I speak these things.” (John 8:28); Jesus said to them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am.” (John 8:58 — Note: He didn’t say “I was”, but “I am”, although He was talking about the past. This was explained in the introduction); “And salvation is in none other, for neither is there another name under heaven which is given among men by which we must be saved.” (Acts 4:12); “And it shall be that whosoever shall call upon the name of [the] Lord shall be saved.” (Acts 2:21); “For every one whosoever, who shall call on the name of the Lord, shall be saved.” (Romans 10:13) [According to Acts 4:10-12, “the name of the Lord” in Acts 2:21 and Romans 10:13 is the Name of JESUS.]; “And Peter said to them, Repent, and be baptised, each one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ, for remission of sins, and ye will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. “ (Acts 2:38)

God revealed Himself to the children of Israel as Jehovah, the I Am. So when God was incarnated, He should have been known by His people when He called Himself with the same Name. We have seen how the Lord Jesus called Himself “I Am”, even when speaking about the past. It is very bad to deny the Divinity of the Lord Jesus, because those who do that will DIE IN THEIR SINS. They will die in their sins, because the only way to be saved is to believe in Christ as the ONLY Lord and Savior, i.e. to believe in His Name, to call on His Name. In the Old Testament Jehovah God clearly said that it is by calling HIS Name that people will be saved; the New Testament does not contradict that, because Jesus Christ is not another god; it’s by calling the Name of Jesus Christ (i.e. of Jehovah incarnate) that man is saved. God said He would not give His Glory or the honor of His Name to another, yet Jesus called Himself by that same glorious Name, because He is not another, but God Himself. And baptism should be done in ONE Name, the Name of the Trinity, because the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit are not three gods, but the same ONE God, and They have ONE Name, and the text doesn’t say “names” in plural. Indeed, later on the Apostle Peter told the people to repent and be baptized in the Name of Jesus Christ, and this doesn’t contradict the fact that they should be baptized in the Name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, because it’s the same Name. So saying “in the name of Jesus Christ” is the same thing as to say “in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit”; it’s one Name, it’s one Nature, it’s the same reputation and honor in relation to His unchangeable Nature; it’s the Name of God, the one God, Jehovah.

Our Lord and God Jesus Christ is the I Am, Jehovah.

___

Posted in The Lord Jesus Christ, the Son of God — Question and Answer | Truth | Apologia | Religious Movements | Jehovah’s Witnesses | Islam | Mormonism | New Age Movement

This entry was posted in Apologia, Religious Movements, Truth. Bookmark the permalink.